Tide tandem up for national awards

The University of Alabama football team had two players named finalists for prominent national awards Thursday.
Senior nose tackle Terrence Cody was named a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy by the Football Writers Association of America and the Charlotte Touchdown Club, and junior linebacker Rolando McClain was named a finalist for the Butkus Award as linebacker of the year.
Cody's competition for defensive player of the year is Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer, Tennessee strong safety Eric Berry, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and Nebraska defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh. The winner will be announced on Dec. 7.
McClain is up against Sergio Kindle of Texas, Eric Norwood of South Carolina, Brandon Spikes of Florida and Sean Weatherspoon of Missouri. McClain, Weatherspoon and Spikes were finalists in 2008.
The winner will be announced Dec. 8. The Butkus Award is selected by a 51-person panel comprised mostly of scouts, coaches and journalists.
Monday will feature an onslaught of announcements including finalists for numerous awards including the Bednarik, Fred Biletnikoff, Lou Groza, Ray Guy, John Mackey, Maxwell, Munger, Davey O'Brien, Outland, Robinson, Jim Thorpe and Doak Walker.
The one Alabama fans may want to especially keep an eye on is the Maxwell for outstanding player in regards to sophomore running back Mark Ingram. However since 1999 the only player to win the Heisman Trophy and the Maxwell in the same year was Tim Tebow in 2007.
Awards list rundown
Heisman Trophy: Finalists announced Dec. 9.
Maxwell Award (outstanding player): Mark Ingram, semifinalist. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Walter Camp Award (Player of the year): Ingram, Rolando McClain semifinalists. Finalists announced Dec. 2.
Butkus Award (linebacker): Rolando McClain, finaliwst. Winner announced Dec. 8.
Outland Trophy (interior lineman): Terrence Cody and Mike Johnson on watch list. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Bednarik Award (defensive player): Cody and McClain, semifinalists. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Doak Walker Award (running back): Ingram, semifinalist. Finalists named Nov. 23.
Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): Javier Arenas, semifinalist. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Lou Groza Award (kicker): Leigh Tiffin, semifinalist. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Bronko Nagurski Award (defensive player): Cody, finalist. Winner announced Dec. 7.
Rotary Lombard Award (lineman): Cody finalist. Winner announced Dec. 9.
Ted Hendricks Award (defensive end): Midseason watch list announced in mid-November. No Alabama players were on the preseason watch list.
Lott Trophy (defensive impact player): McClain semifinalist. Finalists announced Nov. 24.
Rimington Trophy (center): Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Eddie Robinson Award (coach): Finalists announced Dec. 9.
George Munger Award (coach): Nick Saban, semifinalist. Finalists announced Nov. 23.
Broyles Award (assistant coach): Finalists announced Nov. 30.
Alabama no longer in the running: Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback); Unitas Golden Arm (senior quarterback); Fred Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver); John Mackey Award (tight end); Ray Guy Award (punter); Walter Campbell Trophy (scholar-athlete, formerly known as the Draddy Trophy).