Notebook: Ingram, Dareus earn A-Day honors

TUSCALOOSA _ Running back Mark Ingram was named A-Day MVP and defensive end Marcell Dareus the most valuable lineman for second straight year.
Ingram had nine carries for 92 yards including a 60-yard run around the right end and also had four receptions for 31 yards. Dareus had three tackles, one sack, 1½ tackles for a loss and two quarterback hurries.
"It makes me feel pretty good," Dareus said. "Kind of prestigious."

Article Continues Below
It should be noted, however, that media voting for both awards was conducted at the end of the third quarter. Brandon Gibson had had six receptions for 107 yards in the final quarter to finish with eight catches for 142 yards and the game-winning touchdown.
"It feels good," Gibson said about the 39-yard score. "I'm not trying to get too bashful about it but I just want to do it during the season and try to make the best out of it."
Here are the other spring awards:
Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award - Dareus and Mark Barron
Jerry Duncan "I Like to Practice" Award - David Ross, Preston Dial and B.J. Scott
Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award - Josh Chapman
Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award - James Carpenter
Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award - Dre Kirkpatrick
Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award - Trent Richardson
Ray Perkins Receiver Award - Darius Hanks
Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award - Courtney Upshaw
Derrick Thomas Community Service Award - Barrett Jones and Ingram
Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award - Hardie Buck and Will Lowery
Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award - Chance Warmack, A.J. McCarron, DeMarcus Milliner and Tana Patrick
Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award - Michael Williams and Chris Jordan
Mal Moore Leadership Award - Greg McElroy and Dont'a Hightower
Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award - Julio Jones and Luther Davis
Dwight Stephenson Lineman of the A-Day Game Award - Dareus
Dixie Howell Memorial Most Valuable Player of the A-Day Game Award - Ingram
Injury report
Alabama didn't sustain any major injuries during the scrimmage.
"We didn't get anybody injured, which is always the most important thing," Coach Nick Saban said. "You really can't lose a spring game unless you lose players."
As expected, wide receiver Michael Bowman did not suit up due to a strained stomach muscle. Also held out were linebacker Milton Talbert (shoulder), center William Vlachos (foot), wide receiver Earl Alexander (abdominal strain), offensive lineman Taylor Pharr (concussion) and offensive lineman Chad Lindsay (knee sprain).
Capacity crowd
Alabama's announced attendance of 91,132 was considered capacity due to the ongoing construction of the upper deck behind the south end zone.
Technically it was 90,132, but school officials estimated that another 1,000 were essentially in standing-room only areas including the spiral stairways.
Since Saban arrived in 2007, Alabama is averaging 86,425 fans for A-Day, and all four attendance marks have topped the pre-Saban record of 46,700 set in 1994.
Year : Attendance
2007: 92,138
2010: 91,312
2009: 84,050
2008: 78,200
1988: 51,117
1994: 46,700
2006: 40,000
1995: 37,323
2002: 37,000
2001 and 2004: 35,000
Last year's four team captains participated in the annual Walk of Fame ceremony at Denny Chimes. Cornerback/return specialist Javier Arenas, offensive lineman Mike Johnson and linebacker Rolando McClain had their handprints and footprints placed in cement.
Arenas was presented with the Punt Returner Trophy from the College Football Performance Awards before the scrimmage starter, and at halftime the Touchdown Club of Atlanta presented two awards, Saban with its coach of the year award, and Ingram the player of the year.
Walk-on Zach Goehler handed the punting for both squad and after an exceptionally shaky start finished with 14 punts averaging 36.2 yards. "We really don't have a punter right now," Saban said, adding, "Taylor Pharr was probably the best punter but he had a concussion the other day in practice so he didn't get cleared for the day or he would have been punting today. We're going to have two young guys in that position next year and one of those guys is going to have to come through."
NASCAR driver David Reutimann's No. 00 Toyota was unveiled and made a brief pregame appearance by the northern end zone. Featuring the BCS National Championship logo, it'll be used in next week's Aaron's 499 at Talladega Superspeedway.
The A-Day program had the national championship ring on the cover with a black backdrop. Players will receive their rings during a special team dinner Monday.