Ingram named Maxwell finalist

TUSCALOOSA _ In what could be a preview of Heisman Trophy balloting, University of Alabama sophomore running back Mark Ingram was named a finalist for the Maxwell Award on Monday, which goes to the college player of the year.
The other finalists are Florida quarterback Tim Tebow and Texas quarterback Colt McCoy.
Named finalists for other national honors were senior nose tackle Terrence Cody for the Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year), senior Leigh Tiffin for the Lou Groza Award (best kicker), and Ingram for the Doak Walker (running back of the year).
After passing Shaun Alexander on Saturday, Ingram is second on the Alabama single-season rushing list with 1,399 yards just 72 shy of breaking Bobby Humphrey's school record of 1,471 yards set in 1986. He's accumulated 885 total yards after contact and is averaging 142.9 rushing yards against Southeastern Conference teams.
"Just to have the opportunity and be mentioned with great backs like that is a compliment," Ingram said. "They did a lot of great things here."
Tebow has won the last two Maxwell Awards, but his numbers are down from a year ago when he led Florida to the national championship.
Coming off his Heisman-winning year he threw for 2,746 yards and 30 touchdowns and had a passer-efficiency rating of 172.4, and also led the Gators in carries (176), yards (673) and rushing touchdowns (12).
So far this season he's passes for 1,945 yards (which is eighth in the SEC) and 14 touchdowns to go with a 155.4 rating. He had 706 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground.
McCoy has passed for 3,024 yards this season, but his passer rating is even lower at 152.5 thanks primarily to nine interceptions. The only team the Longhorns have played that's still ranked in the Top 25 is No. 12 Oklahoma State.
The Maxwell has been handed out since 1937, and is voted on by football coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club and journalists across the country. It, along with the Heisman and Walter Camp are considered the three major national player of the year awards, and an Alabama player has never won any of them.
Numerous awards announced their list of finalists Monday, especially those that will be part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show on Dec. 10.
Cody's competition for the Bednarik are Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska and Brandon Spikes of Florida. He's also up against Suh for the Bronko Nagurski Award (defensive player) and Rotary Lombard Award (lineman).
Tiffin is joined by UCLA's Kai Forbath and Georgia's Blair Walsh as finalists for kicker of the year.
The other finalists for the Doak Walker are Stanford's Toby Gerhart and Clemson's C.J. Spiller.
Alabama is no longer in the running for the Outland Trophy (best interior lineman, which Andre Smith won last year), Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) or the George Munger Award (coach). Cody and senior guard Mike Johnson were semifinalists for the Outland, and senior Javier Arenas for the Thorpe, and Nick Saban for the George Munger.
Temple's Al Golden, Cincinnati's Brian Kelly and TCU's Gary Patterson are the finalists for the Munger, awarded by the Maxwell Football Club.
Tebow and McCoy were also named finalists for the Davey O'Brien Quarterback Award along with Houston's Case Keenum.
Tuesday, the Lott Trophy finalists for defensive impact player will be announced. Junior linebacker Rolando McClain is a semifinalist.
Awards list rundown
Heisman Trophy: Finalists announced Dec. 9.
Maxwell Award (outstanding player): Mark Ingram, finalist. Winner announced Dec. 10.
Walter Camp Award (Player of the year): Ingram, Rolando McClain semifinalists. Finalists announced Dec. 2.
Butkus Award (linebacker): Rolando McClain, finalist. Winner announced Dec. 8.
Outland Trophy (interior lineman): No finalists. Terrence Cody and Mike Johnson were on watch list.
Bednarik Award (defensive player): Cody, finalist. Winner announced Dec. 10.
Doak Walker Award (running back): Ingram, finalist. Winner named Dec. 10.
Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back): No finalist. Javier Arenas was a semifinalist.
Lou Groza Award (kicker): Leigh Tiffin, finalist. Winner named Dec. 10.
Bronko Nagurski Award (defensive player): Cody, finalist. Winner announced Dec. 7.
Rotary Lombard Award (lineman): Cody finalist. Winner announced Dec. 9.
Ted Hendricks Award (defensive end): No one on midseason watch list.
Lott Trophy (defensive impact player): McClain semifinalist. Finalists announced Tuesday.
Rimington Trophy (center): Finalists were to be announced Nov. 23.
Eddie Robinson Award (coach): Finalists announced Dec. 9.
George Munger Award (coach): No finalists. Nick Saban was a semifinalist.
Broyles Award (assistant coach): Finalists announced Nov. 30.
No longer in the running: Davey O'Brien Award (quarterback); Unitas Golden Arm (senior quarterback); Fred Biletnikoff Award (wide receiver); John Mackey Award (tight end); Ray Guy Award (punter); Walter Campbell Trophy (scholar-athlete, formerly known as the Draddy Trophy).