Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 6, 2012

Jones wins Rimington Trophy

TUSCALOOSA | University of Alabama offensive lineman Barrett Jones won the Rimington Award Thursday night as the nation's top center. The fifth-year senior becomes just the second player ever to win both the Outland Trophy -- awarded to the nation's top lineman -- and the Rimington Trophy in the same career. Greg Eslinger of Minnesota won both honors in the same season (2005). Jones won the Outland Trophy in 2011.

"I am truly honored to be recognized as the winner of the Rimington Trophy," said Jones. "The job of learning the center position as a senior has been one of the most difficult challenges of my career, but also one of the most enjoyable and rewarding. With that said, this award would not have been possible without of my teammates, coaches and specifically the rest of our offensive line."

Jones was in contention as a repeat winner of the Outland Trophy Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards presentation, but was beaten out by Texas A&M's Luke Joeckel. Alabama cornerback Dee Milliner was a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back, but that honor went to Mississippi State defensive back Johnthan Banks.

Jones and Milliner were the only two Alabama players who were finalists for one of the 10 awards presented at the Home Depot event, but several others remain candidates for other awards. Linebacker C.J. Mosley is a finalist for the coveted Butkus Award as the nation's top linebacker, and McCarron is a finalist for the Manning Award as the nation's top passer.

Earlier Thursday, Jones was named the Capital One Academic All-America of the Year by the College Sports Information Directors of America. Jones already has won the Campbell Trophy, the nation's most prestigious academic honor for a college football player, and SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

SEC All-Freshman Team
Four Alabama players were named SEC All-Freshman in a vote of coaches: wide receiver Amari Cooper, running back T.J. Yeldon, center Ryan Kelly and defensive end D.J. Pettway. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Other highlights from the list include Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Georgia running back Todd Gurley, and Ole Miss linebacker Denzel Nkemdiche.

Five from UA named Walter Camp All-American
Five Alabama players were named to the Walter Camp All-America team Thursday: Offensive linemen D.J. Fluker, Barrett Jones, and Chance Warmack, cornerback Dee Milliner and linebacker C.J. Mosley.

Reach Chase Goodbread at chase@tidesports.com or at 205-722-0196.

TIDESPORTS.COM Premium Recruiting: Vonn Bell closes in on decision

Alabama NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos TideSports.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.

ay.com/bg.gif border=0 >